Ealing and Acton Constituency Boundaries to Change

Overhaul of current system could see shakeup for current MPs


Angie Bray MP

General Election Result - Ealing Central and Acton

Ealing North

Ealing Southall

Local Government

Sign Up For EalingToday.co.uk

Sign up for our free Acton newsletter

Local constituency boundaries for the next election are set to be changed following recommendations from the Boundary Commission.

The plans, which will be subject to two years of consultation, are part of a move to cut the number of MPs by 50 to 600 by the next general election.

In Ealing and Acton there could be big changes afoot.

The Commission said Ealing was too large for just two constituencies so they plan to rearrange the current ones - which is mixed news for the Conservative MP for Ealing Central and Acton Angie Bray.

There will be one Ealing constituency (Ealing BC) containing of nine wards, including two (Cleveland and Hobbayne) from the existing Ealing North constituency, and two wards (Elthorne and Northfield) from the existing Ealing, Southall constituency.

Some of the current Acton wards will become part of a new Hammersmith and Acton constituency which includes East Acton, Hammersmith and Shepherd's Bush much of which is currently in the Hammersmith constituency held by Andy Slaughter for Labour.

Ms Bray says:

"I would love the idea of being the single MP for Ealing which has a good ring about it.  But I would be sorry to lose a large part of Acton where I have got to know the community and many of the pressing local issues quite well over the past few years.  Southfield, the ward where I live, would also be put into the new Hammersmith and Acton seat and I am not at all sure that I would be delighted by the prospect of being represented by Andy Slaughter who I have known and crossed swords with many times in the past when I was his local GLA representative. 

'' Obviously none of this is yet finally decided and so I will continue to work as the MP for Ealing Central and all of Acton but should the changes be confirmed, I shall look forward to getting to know all those who live and work in the Northfields, Hobbayne, Elthorne and Cleveland wards.  We must, in the meantime, wait to see what is confirmed."

The Commission propose a Greenford and Northolt constituency containing the five Greenford and Northolt wards from the existing Ealing North constituency, one ward (Lady Margaret) from the existing Ealing, Southall constituency, and two Hillingdon wards (Barnhill and
Yeading) from the existing Hayes and Harlington constituency.

They also propose a Southall and Heston constituency containing four Ealing wards from the existing Ealing, Southall constituency and five Hounslow wards from the existing Feltham and Heston constituency.

The Boundary Commission for England reviews Parliamentary constituency boundaries every five years. The new constituencies are likely to be the ones used for the next election which is currently expected to be in 2015.

They are consulting on their initial proposals for a 12-week period, from 13 September 2011 to 5 December 2011. They are encouraging everyone to contribute to the design of the new constituencies. There will also be public hearings to discuss the changes.

The London region comprises the 32 London boroughs and the City of London. The region currently has 73 constituencies but this will fall to 68 if the new proposals are adopted.

In the Borough of Hounslow, the electorate was too large for two constituencies hence the transfer of Hounslow Heath ward to a new Teddington and Hanworth constituency.

The consultation website is at www.consultation.boundarycommissionforengland.independent.gov.uk.

This contains reports and maps, the electorate sizes of every ward and an online facility where you can have your say on the initial proposals.

You can also contribute to the consultation by writing directly to: BoundaryCommission for England, 35 Great Smith Street, London SW1P 3BQ. Or email


September 13, 2011