Meet The Candidates

Conservative represenatives for Walpole Ward

Related Links


Walpole Ward
Picture left to right
Ann Chapman --- John Cowing --- Ashok Kapoor

Local Elections 2014

253 Candidates For Ealing's Elections

Ealing Conservatives Release Election Manifesto

Labour Election Manifesto

Ealing Lib Dems Unveil Election Promises

Electoral Commission


Sign up for our free newsletter

Comment on this story on the

Walpole Ward

The Walpole Ward is represented by the hardworking team of Cllrs Ann Chapman, John Cowing and Ashok Kapoor. They were part of the previous Conservative Administration, which cleaned up Ealing and resurfaced your roads after years of Labour neglect.

That same Conservatives Administration commissioned the Westside Young People’s Centre; refurbished Ealing Central Library; refurbished West Ealing library; campaigned with residents to save the other libraries; created the Heritage Quarter; started the Pitzhanger Manor and Walpole Park projects.

Ann, John and Ashok are keen to prioritise resurfacing roads in the neighbourhood again and welcome the Conservative pledge to abolish Labour’s £40 garden tax and bring back a weekly collection service.

They also welcome the commitment to get rid of the street drinking culture especially as it is a problem in the local parks.

They look forward to continuing to deliver for Walpole residents.

Ann Chapman

Councillor Ann Chapman has represented Walpole ward since 2006. She lives in the ward with her husband. Ann’s approach is to be visible and hands-on, making things happen wherever possible. Over the past eight years, she has continued to support residents in their individual dealings with the Council and has actively championed residents’ views on wider issues including fighting proposed library closures, encouraging development of cultural facilities in central Ealing, supporting regeneration in West Ealing and the redevelopment of Walpole Park and Pitzhanger Manor House. Ann keeps a close eye on Walpole and Lammas parks. / 07831 579589

John Cowing

Councillor John Cowing has lived in Ealing for over 30 years and has been a Walpole Councillor since 2006. He is passionate about supporting local business and reviving the local economy. He has worked energetically with residents and traders to reclaim Dean Gardens for the community and employed his business skills to help organise the successful West Ealing SoundBite Festival and the Dean Gardens Christmas Festival. John is a supporter of a number of charities and completed a 62½ mile walk in 24 hours in support of Oxfam and the Gurkha Welfare Trust. / 07500 110652

Ashok Kapoor

Councillor Ashok Kapoor has lived in Ealing for 20 years with his wife and three children. He has been a Councillor for Walpole ward since 2006. He is a vice chair of the British Indian Councillor Association, Chairman of the International Hindi Society UK and was previously a governor at St. Mark’s Primary School. Ashok’s work life was in running retail and wholesale businesses in central London. His main local interest is safety. He wants to see the Council work more closely with the police to get rid of street drinking. / 07837 892196

Nominees for Election in Walpole on May 22nd 2014

Candidate’s name Home address Party Proposer and Seconder
ALLAIN Ryan Arthur 9 Beaconsfield Road,London, W5 5JE The Green Party Glendra M Read (P), Peter M Hughes (S)
CHAPMAN Ann 15 Lammas Park Road, Ealing, W5 5JD Conservative Patrick R Chapman (P), Nicholas A Sabin (S)
CONLAN Paul Nicholas Joseph 10 Hollywood Court, InglisRoad, Ealing, W5 3RJ Labour Philip T Kemball (P), Valerie Kemball (S)
COWING John 42 Ranelagh Road, London,W5 5RJ Conservative Margaret A Chapman (P), Patrick R Chapman (S)
JONES Alan Thomas 17 St James Avenue, W13 9DL UKIP Jack Jones (P), Mariann Jones (S)
KAPOOR Ashok Kumar 271 Boston Road, Hanwell, W7 2AT Conservative Margaret A Chapman (P), Patrick R Chapman (S)
MITCHELL John William 47 Ridley Avenue, London,W13 9XW Liberal Democrat Richard G Spickernell (P), Geraldine A Spickernell (S)
RAI Binda 1 Boston Vale, W7 2AP Labour Philip T Kemball (P), Valerie Kemball (S)
ROYCE Catherine Margaret 20 Gloucester Road, W3 8PD Liberal Democrat Geraldine A Spickernell (P),Richard G Spickernell (S)
SANYO Adam 3 Northfield Road, W13 9SY Liberal Democrat Richard G Spickernell (P), Geraldine A Spickernell (S)
SHAW Gareth James 3 Balfour Road, Ealing, W13 9TN Labour Philip T Kemball (P), Valerie Kemball (S)

Ward Results in Walpole Ward for Local Election May 2010

Name of candidate Description Number of votes
CHAPMAN Ann Conservative
2704 elected
COWING John Conservative
2314 elected
KAPOOR Ashok Kumar Conservative
2023 elected
CONLAN Paul Nicholas Labour
HUQ Rupa Asha Labour
MOSZCZYNSKI Wiktor Andrzej Labour
MITCHELL John William Liberal Democrat
IZZARD Colin David Liberal Democrat
WHITTAKER Robin Marie Liberal Democrat
EDWARDS Sarah Janet Green Party
TOMLINSON Eleanor Mary Green Party
READ Glendra Morley Green Party
LEACH Eric Independent
CARPENTER Timothy Guy Libertarian Party UK



May 19th 2014