Top of The Class for Two Ealing Teachers

Recognition at the 2012 Teaching Awards

Related Links

Mrs Jaipersad being congratulated by some of her students.


Sign up for our free newsletter

Comment on this story on the

Teachers from two of Ealing's schools have been awarded top prizes at their professional equivalent of the Oscars.

Radha Jaipersad from Ellen Wilkinson School for Girls and Mohammed Sabur from Elthorne Park High School have both emerged as winners in the 2012 Pearson Teaching Awards.

Both were judged against a record number of nominations from pupils, parents and fellow teachers. They will now join the other winning teachers from across the UK at the televised awards ceremony in the autumn.

Ms Jaipersad was judged the best Teacher in a Secondary School in London in recognition of her excellent work in teaching sciences to the girls at Ellen Wilkinson. Radha has taught at the school since 2002. She has been praised by parents at the school for her ‘high expectations of pupils’, her ‘passion’ and her ‘infectious’ enthusiasm for her subject.

Mr Sabur is headteacher at Elthorne High School and is retiring this year. He has been a teacher for 35 years and had led Elthorne High School for the past 15 years. He won the Headteacher of the Year in a Secondary School in London award.

Councillor Patricia Walker, cabinet member for Children and Young People, said: “I am delighted that, once again, our excellent teachers are being recognised and celebrated in this way. The council is very proud of the standard of education that is on offer in Ealing and we appreciate the hard work and dedication that teachers give.”

Ms Jaipersad said: “I was truly surprised to win this award. Although I have been nominated a few times, it was never something I thought I would win. I have been truly blessed to have the support of my school, colleagues and most importantly my students.”

Both will now join the other finalists from across the country at the televised awards ceremony in the autumn.

For more information, go to




28th June 2012


Bookmark and Share