Meet The Candidates For Ealing Common

Liberal Democrat Jon Ball is hoping to represent the Ward

Related Links

Jon Ball, Jenni Hollis and Craig O'Donnell on Ealing Common

Local Elections 2014

253 Candidates For Ealing's Elections

Ealing Conservatives Release Election Manifesto

Labour Election Manifesto

Ealing Lib Dems Unveil Election Promises



Sign up for our free newsletter

Comment on this story on the

I've represented Ealing Common ward ever since winning one of the three seats off the Conservatives in 2002. I've lived in the ward since the 1990's, initially in Popes Lane, then in Olive Road and now in Webster Gardens, so I know the area well as a resident not purely as a councillor.

I enjoy representing local people who have problems and also my wider role on the Council. This includes scrutinising decisions made by the cabinet and working on the planning committee to try to prevent development which will make Ealing worse, while encouraging improvements. Amongst my proudest achievements have been successfully working with residents to prevent the previous Conservative administration selling part of Gunnersbury Park off to developers and fighting the proposal for a totally unsuitable skyscraper in Ealing Broadway.

I work closely with the local police safer neighbourhood team and have been successful in getting a new mobile CCTV camera installed to catch burglars in Ealing Common ward.

I am very pleased with the strong support that local residents are giving my energetic young colleagues Jenni Hollis, Craig O'Donnell me as we campaign around the ward. Residents like our fully-costed pledge to freeze council tax for four years and our plans to be tougher with the Council's poor waste contractor, which continues to miss far too many collections. The partnership approach taken by the current Labour administration just isn't working.

I'm a trustee of a local charity for elderly people and this year raised money for the local YMCA by sleeping rough to raise awareness of homelessness. I stood as the Liberal Democrat parliamentary candidate for Ealing Central & Acton at the last general election and have been reselected to fight that seat again next year. On a lighter note, I have contributed occasional restaurant reviews to Ealing Today!

In this week's election I hope that the residents of Ealing Common ward will vote for me, Jenni Hollis and Craig O'Donnell to elect a full Liberal Democrat team who will work all year round for local residents, not just at election time.

Jon Ball

Ealing Common Ward

Jon Ball's personal vote saw him finish first last time out with several hundred more votes than his party colleagues. The Conservatives will be hoping that the Liberal Democrats decline in the national polls will be enough for them to win all three seats this time around.

Candidate’s name Home address Description Proposer and Seconder
ASHWOOD Tom 65 Gunnersbury Avenue, W4 4LP Labour Charles J M Smith (P), John L Delaney (S)
BALL Jon Timothy Ashby 57 Webster Gardens, Ealing, W5 5NB Liberal Democrat Humaira Sanders (P), David LZerdin (S)
DABROWSKA Joanna Klara 115 Seaford Road, W13 9HS Conservative Stephen J McManus (P), Diana Moore (S)
HOLLIS Jenni 21 North Road, W5 4RW Liberal Democrat Humaira Sanders (P), Jon T A Ball (S)
METCALFE John 94 Webster Gardens, Ealing, W5 5NH Labour Charles J M Smith (P), John L Delaney (S)
O'DONNELL Craig William 35 Jubilee Road, Perivale, UB6 7HY Liberal Democrat Humaira Sanders (P), Jon T A Ball (S)
REECE Roz 21 The Common, Ealing, W5 3JB Conservative Stephen J McManus (P), Diana Moore (S)
RICE Miriam 17 Bridgepoint House, Sudbury Heights Avenue, Greenford, UB6 0BF Labour Charles J M Smith (P), John L Delaney (S)
ROSSER Michael Lewis Basement Flat, 46 Ranelagh Road, Ealing, W5 5RJ The Green Party Kaylie L Green (P), Loukia Alepolhoriti (S)
SCOTT David Alexander Hill 40 The Grove, Ealing, W5 5LH Conservative Stephen J McManus (P), Diana Moore (S)
TOY Angela Mary 35 St Stephens Road, Ealing, W13 8HJ UKIP Thomas Wv French (P), Anne M Houghton (S)

Ward Results for Local Election May 2010

Name of candidate Description Number of votes
BALL Jon Timothy Ashby Liberal Democrat Focus Team
2637 Elected
DABROWSKA Joanna Klara Conservative
2448 Elected
REECE Roz Conservative
2409 Elected
SACOOR Karim Conservative
JAMES Doreen Margaret Liberal Democrat Focus Team
ROWLEY Simon James Liberal Democrat Focus Team
MASON Peter Elijah Jonathan Labour
WARD-PROUD Liam Anthony Labour
LAL Harbans Labour
GREEN John Christopher Green Party
CARTER Julie UK Independence Party

Ward remains unchanged with the Conservatives holding two seats and the Liberal Democrats one. Turnout: 63.51%


May 21st 2014