Meet The Candidates

Lib Dems hoping to represent Elthorne Ward

Related Links


Local Elections 2014

253 Candidates For Ealing's Elections

Ealing Conservatives Release Election Manifesto

Labour Election Manifesto

Ealing Lib Dems Unveil Election Promises

Electoral Commission



Sign up for our free newsletter

Comment on this story on the

Cllr Nigel Bakhai

Nigel is the only councillor who lives in Elthorne ward and has lived in Hanwell for the last 15 years. Nigel has been active in the local community as the Chair of the Hanwell Steering Group (now known as the Hanwell Community Forum) for five years before becoming a councillor. Nigel is on the council’s Planning committee where he raised local concerns with the council’s plans for the redevelopment of Warren Farm, and on the Health scrutiny panel where he has supported the cross-party campaign to protect local health services. An active local councillor, Nigel has helped solve hundreds of problems for local residents over the last four years, but in particular he is responsible for the re-development of King George’s Field (known locally as the Sandy Park).

0786 798 3932

Joanna Dugdale

Joanna is originally from Burnham near Slough. Joanna went to Cambridge University and trained to be an actress, but until recently she has been working at a speaker bureau. Joanna has lived in Ealing for five years and is married with a primary school age daughter. In 2010 she took the lead in saving a local playgroup from closure by volunteering as Emergency Fundraiser and ensuring that the target of £6,500 was raised within three months. Education and children’s issues are areas which concern her most, along with the environment, citizenship and volunteering.

07930 661198

Harjinder Singh

Harjinder was born in the Netherlands and has also lived in Ireland and India prior to moving to West London. He worked for 25 years in the international travel business, but since coming to the UK he has worked as a consultant to the Slough Race Equality Council and now works with the Sikh Federation lobbying both the Westminster and the EU parliament on Sikh related issues. An experienced campaigner, Harjinder has previously stood for election in Hounslow and in Norwood Green ward at the last local elections. Harjinder is particularly interested in transport and is keen to make sure that Hanwell and West Ealing both gain the maximum benefit from Crossrail including increased frequency of trains and step-free access at Hanwell station as well as improving local facilities for cycling and walking.

0740 420 7918

 The Lib Dem priorities are to protect our green spaces, freeze council tax, more bobbies on the beat in high crime areas, campaign to protect local health services, more investment in roads and pavements, restore free garden waste collection, cleaner streets and initiatives to increase recycling by fining the contractor Enterprise for poor performance, more social and affordable housing, and make the council easier to contact.

Unlike the Conservatives the Lib Dems have produced fully costed budgets over the last four years showing how we would spend more money on our priorities while freezing the council tax. The Lib Dems want a council that provides value for money while protecting services for the most vulnerable.

Locally, we are opposed to the council’s plans to give QPR a 200 year lease for Warren Farm at a peppercorn rent, and we will look to reverse the agreement with QPR to retain this land for public use.


Elthorne Ward

A key battleground ward in the forthcoming election. Based on the result in the last election if the Conservatives take both the remaining seats in this ward with a 3.5% swing in their favour, they will win overall control of the Council. However, both Labour and the Liberal Democrats will be looking to make up ground here as well.

Nominees for Election on May 22nd 2014

Candidate’s name Home address Description Proposer and Seconder
BAKHAI Nigel 51 Azalea Court, Azalea Close, W7 3QA Liberal Democrat Zoe A Horwich (P), Andrew J Forth (S)
BASU Suneil 1 Osterley Park View Road, Hanwell, W7 2HG The Green Party Alexander J Warleigh-Lack (P), Geoffrey Price (S)
BENJAMIN Mark Jason 50 Brentvale Avenue, Southall, Middlesex, UB1 3ER Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition Venita Adams (P), Catherine Harrack (S)
CAMADOO Joanna Diana 461 Uxbridge Road, Southall, Middlesex, UB1 3ET Labour Helen C Laycock (P), Neil S Reynolds (S)
CONTI Fabio 5 Hollies Road, W5 4UU Conservative Raghav Singh (P), Gurdeep K Singh (S)
DUGDALE Joanna Louise 23A Darwin Road, W5 4BA Liberal Democrat Zoe A Horwich (P), Andrew J Forth (S)
GORDON Yoel 14 Elthorne Park Road, W7 2JA Labour Helen C Laycock (P), Neil S Reynolds (S)
KAPOOR Anita 271/273 Boston Road, W7 2AT Conservative Raghav Singh (P), Gurdeep K Singh (S)
LYON Laura Stephanie 15 Owen Close, Northolt, Middlesex, UB5 5TX UKIP Hayley Austin (P), Stephen Elkington (S)
MASON Peter Elijah Jonathan Flat 6, Craig House, Hartington Road, W13 8QJ Labour Helen C Laycock (P), Neil S Reynolds (S)
POTTS Ian Michael 45 Lynton Avenue, W13 0EA Conservative Raghav Singh (P), Gurdeep K Singh (S)
SINGH Harjinder 8 Havelock Court, Havelock Road, Southall, Middlesex, UB2 4NR Liberal Democrat Zoe A Horwich (P), Andrew J Forth (S)
WARLEIGH-LACK Christopher Byron 44 St Margrets Road, Hanwell, W7 2HF The Green Party Alexander J Warleigh-Lack (P), Geoffrey Price (S)

Ward Results for Local Election May 2010

Name of candidate Description Number of votes
GORDON Yoel Labour
2236 elected
BAKHAI Nigel Liberal Democrat Focus Team
1974 elected
KAPOOR Anita Conservative
1868 elected
AHMED Omer Mahamoud Sheikh Labour
CHANA Taranjit Kaur Labour
KIRKWOOD Robert Lawrence Conservative
MULLINS Theresa Conservative
HUTCHISON Peter John Liberal Democrat Focus Team
RANDLES David John Liberal Democrat Focus Team
WARLEIGH-LACK Christopher Byron Green Party

Conservatives lose one seat and Lib Dems gain one. Turnout: 61.40%


May 20th 2014