Meet The Candidates

Conservative representatives for Elthorne

Related Links

Picture left to right Fabio Conti - Anita Kapoor - Ian Potts

Local Elections 2014

253 Candidates For Ealing's Elections

Ealing Conservatives Release Election Manifesto

Labour Election Manifesto

Ealing Lib Dems Unveil Election Promises


Sign up for our free newsletter

Comment on this story on the

Fabio Conti

Fabio Conti was born locally and attended local schools. He would be honoured to be elected to represent the local community so that he could get to work to help resolve local issues, to put the pride back into the area. As a NHS doctor, he is a passionate believer that all members of the community should receive the best possible health care, so one of his main driving forces is to become involved in the community and engage with residents. / 07817 174279

Councillor Anita Kapoor

Councillor Anita Kapoor has lived with her family in Hanwell for over 40 years. She attended local schools, and was married at the Ealing Town Hall. She is a Governor at St Mark’s & Elthorne Park High Schools. Anita successfully campaigned to have the drug rehab centre relocated; to retain A&E services at Ealing Hospital and for the Hospital to become a Centre of Excellence for Diabetes; and for Hanwell Library to remain open. She is currently campaigning for step free access at Boston Manor Station. / 07858 788974

Councillor Ian Potts

Councillor Ian Potts has served on the Council for 36 years and is a former Mayor of Ealing. His main interest on the Council has been planning and licensing and he voted against the Warren Farms and Green Lane developments. Ian lives in West Ealing and was instrumental in getting the land preserved for the development of West Ealing station once Cross rail comes through. He is Vice-chair of West Ealing School. / 020 8997 1227

Joining Cllr Anita Kapoor in Elthrone ward is the very experienced Cllr Ian Potts and newly qualified Doctor Fabio Conti.

Not surprising, the main issues for residents’ centers on green issues, which Labour has abysmally addressed over the past four years.

People remember the period between 2006 and 2010 when Ealing had a Conservative Council and rubbish and recycling were collected punctually with the streets left tidy afterwards.  How it all changed in the last four years!  A Conservative Administration will completely rethink the waste and recycling contract.  We’ll get it to work properly for residents.   A Conservative Council will also scrap Labour’s £40 Garden Waste tax which is causing garden rubbish to be dumped.  A free service will help to encourage residents to recycle more rather than fly tipping.

From the onset the Conservatives have repeatedly challenged Labour’s decision to effectively give away a Warren Farm to Queen’s Park Rangers, a football club (with rich owners) thereby depriving many future generations of the use of this major Metropolitan Open Land.  A Conservative Administration will undertake to review and try to reverse the agreement with QPR, and do our best to address the issues around Warren Farm which has been expressed on many, many doorsteps.

Elthorne Ward

A key battleground ward in the forthcoming election. Based on the result in the last election if the Conservatives take both the remaining seats in this ward with a 3.5% swing in their favour, they will win overall control of the Council. However, both Labour and the Liberal Democrats will be looking to make up ground here as well.

Nominees for Election on May 22nd 2014

Candidate’s name Home address Description Proposer and Seconder
BAKHAI Nigel 51 Azalea Court, Azalea Close, W7 3QA Liberal Democrat Zoe A Horwich (P), Andrew J Forth (S)
BASU Suneil 1 Osterley Park View Road, Hanwell, W7 2HG The Green Party Alexander J Warleigh-Lack (P), Geoffrey Price (S)
BENJAMIN Mark Jason 50 Brentvale Avenue, Southall, Middlesex, UB1 3ER Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition Venita Adams (P), Catherine Harrack (S)
CAMADOO Joanna Diana 461 Uxbridge Road, Southall, Middlesex, UB1 3ET Labour Helen C Laycock (P), Neil S Reynolds (S)
CONTI Fabio 5 Hollies Road, W5 4UU Conservative Raghav Singh (P), Gurdeep K Singh (S)
DUGDALE Joanna Louise 23A Darwin Road, W5 4BA Liberal Democrat Zoe A Horwich (P), Andrew J Forth (S)
GORDON Yoel 14 Elthorne Park Road, W7 2JA Labour Helen C Laycock (P), Neil S Reynolds (S)
KAPOOR Anita 271/273 Boston Road, W7 2AT Conservative Raghav Singh (P), Gurdeep K Singh (S)
LYON Laura Stephanie 15 Owen Close, Northolt, Middlesex, UB5 5TX UKIP Hayley Austin (P), Stephen Elkington (S)
MASON Peter Elijah Jonathan Flat 6, Craig House, Hartington Road, W13 8QJ Labour Helen C Laycock (P), Neil S Reynolds (S)
POTTS Ian Michael 45 Lynton Avenue, W13 0EA Conservative Raghav Singh (P), Gurdeep K Singh (S)
SINGH Harjinder 8 Havelock Court, Havelock Road, Southall, Middlesex, UB2 4NR Liberal Democrat Zoe A Horwich (P), Andrew J Forth (S)
WARLEIGH-LACK Christopher Byron 44 St Margrets Road, Hanwell, W7 2HF The Green Party Alexander J Warleigh-Lack (P), Geoffrey Price (S)

Ward Results for Local Election May 2010

Name of candidate Description Number of votes
GORDON Yoel Labour
2236 elected
BAKHAI Nigel Liberal Democrat Focus Team
1974 elected
KAPOOR Anita Conservative
1868 elected
AHMED Omer Mahamoud Sheikh Labour
CHANA Taranjit Kaur Labour
KIRKWOOD Robert Lawrence Conservative
MULLINS Theresa Conservative
HUTCHISON Peter John Liberal Democrat Focus Team
RANDLES David John Liberal Democrat Focus Team
WARLEIGH-LACK Christopher Byron Green Party

May 20th 2014