Changes to Council Services Over Christmas

Seasonal break means changes to opening hours

Related Links, and

Comment on this story on the forum

Some Ealing Council services will be operating at different opening hours during the week between Christmas and New Year.

The customer service centre at Perceval House, 14-16 Uxbridge Road, will be closed to visitors from 5pm on Christmas Eve until 9am on Thursday, 2 January 2014.

Residents will be able to access essential and emergency council services around the clock during the festive period by calling 020 8825 5000, including Christmas and New Year’s days.

Council staff will be taking customer telephone enquiries on Monday 30, December and Tuesday, 31 December, from 9am-5pm.

Services available on 30 and 31 December include:
Environment: 020 8825 6000
Automated parking line: 020 8825 6565
Council tax: 020 8825 7050
Benefits: 020 8825 7000
Housing repairs: 020 8825 5682 or 0800 181 744
Housing emergency accommodation: 020 8825 8881 or 8888

Children and adults’ social care: 020 8825 5000

Libraries will close at 4pm on Christmas Eve, Tuesday, 24 December and re-open on Thursday, 2 January, apart from Ealing Central Library which will be open on Friday 27, Saturday 28 and Monday 30 December from 9am to 5pm each day.

All car parks and pay and display bays will offer free parking on Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day. Visitor parking in resident bays within controlled parking zones (CPZs) will also be free on those days. Normal parking restrictions will apply on all other days.

Apart from Christmas Day, motorists are reminded that bus lanes and parking restrictions on double yellow lines, loading bays, and parking in other places where parking is prohibited remain in operation throughout the festive period. The council is offering free weekend parking at its car parks in December and the first weekend of January.

The noise response team will be able to deal with noise nuisance complaints apart from Christmas and New Year’s Day. A limited service is also available on Boxing Day to deal with house and car alarms. Contact them on 020 8825 8111.

The council's re-use and recycling centres be open as usual from 8am to 4pm over the Christmas period, except for Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year’s Day. Waste and recycling collection days will change over the holiday period. Collections will return to normal on Monday, 13 January.

Christmas and New Year collection dates

Usual collection day Actual day

Monday 23 December Monday 23 December

Tuesday 24 December Tuesday 24 December

Wednesday 25 December Friday 27 December

Thursday 26 December Saturday 28 December

Friday 27 December Monday 30 December

Monday 30 December Tuesday 31 December

Tuesday 31 December Thursday 2 January

Wednesday 1 January Friday 3 January

Thursday 2 January Saturday 4 January

Friday 3 January Monday 6 January

Monday 6 January Tuesday 7 January

Tuesday 7 January Wednesday 8 January

Wednesday 8 January Thursday 9 January

Thursday 9 January Friday 10 January

Friday 10 January Saturday 11 January

As always, teams will be on standby to grit roads across the borough if required.

The borough's leisure centres will be open at different hours over Christmas. Please visit website for full details.

Residents will still be able access all information on the website throughout the festive period.


19th December 2013