Change to Council Services Over Christmas

Some activities happening at different times over festive season

Related Links

Sign up for email newsletters from, and

Some Ealing Council services will be operating at different opening hours during the week between Christmas and New Year.

Council staff will be taking customer telephone enquiries on Friday 28 and Monday 31 December, from 9am-5pm.

Services available include:
Environment: 020 8825 6000
Parking payment line tel: 020 8825 6565
Council tax tel: 020 8825 7050
Benefits tel: 020 8825 7000
Housing repairs tel: 020 8825 5682
Children and Adults' Social Care tel: 020 8825 8000. This line will also be open on Thursday 27 December from 9am to 5pm.

Residents will be able to access essential and emergency council services around the clock during the festive period by calling 020 8825 5000, including Christmas and New Year's days.

The customer service centre at Perceval House, 14-16 Uxbridge Road, will be closed to visitors from 5pm on Christmas eve until 9am on Wednesday 2 January 2013. However, the emergency housing demand service will be open to visitors on Friday 28 December and Monday 31 December from 9am to 4pm. Residents will still be able access all information on the website throughout the festive period.

Ealing Central, Acton, Southall and Notholt libraries will be open from 9am to 4pm on Christmas eve. Ealing Central Library will also be open from Thursday 27 to Saturday 29 December from 9am to 5pm. Other libraries across the borough will be closed from Christmas eve. All libraries will re-open after New Year's Day as usual.

All car parks and pay and display bays will offer free parking on Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year's Day. Visitor parking in resident bays within controlled parking zones (CPZs) will also be free on those days. Normal parking restrictions will apply on all other days.

Apart from Christmas Day, motorists are reminded that bus lanes and parking restrictions on double yellow lines, loading bays, and parking in other places where parking is prohibited remain in operation throughout the festive period.

The council's re-use and recycling centres be open as usual from 8am to 4pm over the Christmas period, except for Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year's Day. Waste and recycling collection days will change over the holiday period.

Usual collection day Actual collection day
Monday, 24 December Monday, 24 December
Tuesday, 25 December Thursday, 27 December
Wednesday, 26 December Friday, 28 December
Thursday, 27 December Saturday, 29 December
Friday, 28 December Monday, 31 December
Monday, 31 December Wednesday, 2 January
Tuesday, 1 January Thursday, 3 January
Wednesday, 2 January Friday, 4 January
Thursday, 3 January Saturday, 5 January
Friday, 4 January Monday, 7 January
Monday, 7 January Tuesday, 8 January
Tuesday, 8 January Wednesday, 9 January
Wednesday, 9 January Thursday, 10 January
Thursday, 10 January Friday, 11 January
Friday, 11 January Saturday, 12 January

As always, teams will be on standby to grit roads across the borough if required.

The borough's leisure centres will be open at different hours over Christmas. Please visit for full details.

December 19, 2012